5.14.2012

let's get physical. physical.

holy. shitballs.

let me preface this by saying that i have been SO incredibly stressed out lately. granted it was a nice break having mom here (mostly) but with everything that's going on with joe and how crazy weird work has been i've been super stressed. and i've been either drinking a lot or not eating anything, neither of which are good options.

so i ended up doing what every girl does when she passes out on the couch and wakes up to an infomercial about weight loss: i bought it. luckily for me it was jillian michaels body revolution and not some cheesy gimmicky thing. it arrived in the mail last week, but, with mom being here i couldn't exactly get things started.

well....she's gone....so it's time.

just got done with workout 1, phase 1. again i say to you: holy. shitballs.

it shouldn't be that hard seriously...they are simple moves. but jillian has a way of putting these moves together that just seriously kicks my ass! and it's sneaky the way she does it too. i thought i was doing ok and then all of a sudden i thought i was going to vomit. i ALMOST made it thru the whole thing, but i'm not gonna lie...i had to do my cool down lying down. i hate her...and yet i love her and want to look like her...so i don't really have a choice in the matter do i? i have to keep pushing, keep with it, keep going. even if it does almost kill me.

on the plus side of things, if the rest of the workouts are this good and if i actually stick with it this time, there is no bikini i won't look awesome in this summer :)

1.07.2012

life is a highway...





i DO NOT want to drive it all night long...not this night anyway. as i write this, awaiting my jimmy john's delivery (mmmm pickles!!!), i am happily ensconced in a warm holiday inn express listening to my beagle bark at things in her sleep and my boyfriend snore incredibly loudly. ahhh such bliss.

phew...this has been a LONG day. we left lincoln this morning at 0800 local time and stopped here in lovely ogden, ut at 830 local time here...which is in a different time zone. 13 long ass hours in the car today!! but damn did we make some time!!! in fact, we're like, 2 days ahead of schedule. oops. hey i figure it's better this way than getting stuck on i-80 somewhere in a blizzard and being 2 days behind schedule. however, no blizzards in sight. we actually had blue skies and sunshine all day again today...even saw a little chunk of a rainbow in the clouds again. ps nebraska is BORING. it's long and flat and brown/grey. so much so that i wondered if frank l. baum was wrong and dorothy was from nebraska, not kansas.

this for 2 days! gaa!!

after nebraska, we hit wyoming...which was still kinda boring..but at least i finally got to see some mountains!
IMAG0129.jpg
i see you mountain!
 i guess you don't realize how much you've missed something until you finally get to see it again sometimes...

anyway...after that we had the harrowing semi-filled mountain passes to get thru...how do i always manage to time going thru steep curvy mountain passes at night?! however, there was one cool moment...the sun had just finally gone down all the way and the moon was out...we passed a windmill farm in the dark which was neat 'cause they were kinda backlit by the moon. those things are so majestic...and huge. a little bit farther down the road we came to a place where the road split...which it had to...because it would have dead-ended into a mountain. this mountain was GLOWING i swear...it was so eerie and beautiful at the same time. the snow covering the peaks was illuminated by the moon and some twilight of the atmosphere must have still been left over because it was left this beautiful pink/purple/blue color that looked almost unreal..but real enough that i knew i needed to stop staring at it and pay attention to the road or i'd run smack into it.

anyway...my jimmy johns has long since arrived (freaky fast indeed) and my first beer is almost gone...i should get some sleep. tomorrow i get to see my lovely willis (or at least steal her portland hotel...long story). sunday, we move in! one day early! yay!!! :)

1.05.2012

on the road again...

and so begins another fabulous adventure!!!

today joe and i left michigan for much greener pastures...we're finally heading to oregon! i feel like an early settler except i'm making much better time and i won't get cholera.

we actually made really good time...we blew thru chicago, which usually takes forever...and then it was just smooth sailing the entire way. the roads were clear and dry, traffic wasn't horrendous, the sun was shining and the skies were a beautiful blue. plus right when we left kzoo i saw a rainbow in the clouds. could we have more signs that i'm making the right decision please?

oh, we can? i get to enjoy a 2 hr sunset 'cause i drive almost the same speed as the earth's rotation? and that sunset gets to take place behind not one, but two windmill farms??
oooo!            
yep. this is gonna be awesome :)

we stopped in lincoln, ne for the night despite the fact it was only 7pm when we got here...joe hadn't slept all day (it was too sunny *grins*) and worked last night and i haven't slept all week...so we stopped, ordered a pizza, went to the liquor store behind the hotel and grabbed some beers, curled up in front of the tv and plan on sleeping for 10 hours. oh how i <3 holiday inn express pillows! bonus: included continental breakfast in the morning :)

tomorrow's goal: salt lake city!!